What Say Now Democrats???

The year is 1907, one hundred years ago……

READ PRINT UNDER PICTURE

Theodore Roosevelt’s ideas on Immigrants and being an AMERICAN in 1907.

“In the first place, we should insist that if the immigrant who comes here in good faith becomes an American and assimilates himself to us, he shall be treated on an exact equality with everyone else, for it is an outrage to discriminate against any such man because of creed, or birthplace, or origin. But this is predicated upon the person’s becoming in every facet an American, and nothing but an American…There can be no divided allegiance here. Any man who says he is an American, but something else also, isn’t an American at all. We have room for but one flag, the American flag… We have room for but one language here, and that is the English language… and we have room for but one sole loyalty and that is a loyalty to the American people.”

Theodore Roosevelt 1907

18 Responses to What Say Now Democrats???

  1. mpinkeyes says:

    That is a great quote, of coarse if someone uttered those words now they would be branded a racist.

  2. Brilliant ! True then….true now and will be true long after Fred Thompson is out of the Oval Office.

    Come visit my latest post Mouse..it’s a parody of my high school years. It’s your kind of humor.

    LK

  3. onemorecup says:

    Dear Madmouser,

    Brrraaaaavvvvooo! Brraavvvooo! [sounds of high pitched whistles, loud applause] Bravo!

    Nothing better than telling it like it is; this one is of particular interest inasmuch as it’s from a US president AND it’s true–every single word of it.

    From my collegiate days I vividly remember studying this and pre/post quotes very similar indeed. I feel that it is brilliant leadership to tell it like it is–you’ve been over to my place and read my feelings about political correctness. It just sucks!

    You are my personal hero! Cheers!

    OMC

  4. saij says:

    I don’t agree with TR here, but it’s a great quote. And I think more Dem’s should get their hands on it. It begs the question, “what does being an American actually mean?” Roosevelt spelled out his version.

    I reposted it on my blog (with cred to you, of course)

  5. […] tip: MadMouse) This entry was written by saij and posted on September 13, 2007 at 11:10 am and filed under […]

  6. blacktygrrrr says:

    Madmouser,

    I saw the chenzen website where I was called a pimp. Yes, I promote myself as much as possible, but there is nothing wrong with that. It does not make me insincere.

    I was always ncie to you when you dropped by my blog, and I am nice to everyone who stops by, even if they disagree with me.

    There is nothing wrong with asking people to vote for me, and if others are hostile towards by approach, there is nothing I can do.

    I have grown significantly since I contacted you, and you are one of the people I thank for that, since you were an early visitor.

    eric http://www.blacktygrrrr.wordpress.com

  7. madmouser says:

    There is nothing wrong with campaigning for votes or marketing yourself. That is the American way. I no longer stop by Chezzas (whatever) blog. We had our words, we made our points and I decided I would not be missing anything of interest to me, so I just skip over his post when I see it.

    I’ll vote for you, you can count on me.

  8. Jersey Guy says:

    All well and good it you are comfortable living with the attitudes of 100 years ago. Personally, I’m not.

    R.

  9. madmouser says:

    If the attitudes of 100 years ago are better than the ones today, then, I am willing to go back to better ideas. Not everything new is good or good for you. You just have to know the difference. 100 years ago they believed killing another person was wrong, do you want to change that too, and make it legal to kill?

    Do you want to banish religion as that is not a new idea either? I do not mind when someones disagrees with me. I accept that as part of life, but when they make it personal, I do not stand by idly and not defend myself.

  10. madmouser says:

    Jersey Guy, I just realized you missed my whole point of the post. The today Democrats are for illegal immigration and/or giving blanket citizenship to all illegals, while they use the name of Roosevelt as one of their glorified leaders. I just pointed out to them that they have not followed the true roots of their party. They perhaps should change the name of their party and stop giving Democrats a bad name.

    Maybe, they could be the “lefties”, or the “Soros Soldiers”, or the “Radicals:. Any of these names fit better than Democrats. Having Soros. Michael Moore. Al Franken and Larry Flynt as your roll models says it all.

  11. Jersey Guy says:

    Theodore Roosevelt served as a Republican, not as a Democrat. He was later a candidate for President under the banner of the Bullmoose Party. In any case, he has nothing to do with the roots of the Democratic party.

    R.

  12. blacktygrrrr says:

    Madmouser…while I appreciate the vote, I appreciate your kindness more. I am a stand up guy, and am glad you see that. I think highly of you as well, and your words towards me have always been kind and decent.

    eric

  13. zackhensley says:

    mouser nice quote! I grew up in Phoenix, and always thought it funny that the people wanting to become citizens said the hated the american flag and would only have allegence to Mexico… yet wanted to be a citizen here. Teddy has a good point. If they want to be Americans and contributing members of society, then by all means let um in.

    I like I’m gonna steal the quote for an article I’m writing unless you have any objections.

    peace

  14. -kf says:

    The GOP could sure use a Theodore Roosevelt right now.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog by the way. I’ll add you to my blogroll!

  15. dan says:

    T-REX was a R and was hated by Ds. This quote would have been shouted down by the opposition back then as it is now. Maybe you’re thinkn’ of FDR? Gotta get those R’s right or you’re gonna start soundn’ like one of Hillary’s financial backers.

  16. anhinga says:

    This is the motto I live by for so many reasons: LET’S DIG UP TEDDY.

  17. madmouser says:

    I am blond, so I can be confused sometimes. lol! Thanks for the clarification. One set of relatives I will not mix up are the Kennedy’s. John, Bobby and the Swimmer.

  18. 866 Toll says:

    Its nice to see you make postings on this topic, I have to bookmark this website. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

