The Grim Reaper in the Skies

BALAD AIR BASE, Iraq (AP) – The airplane is the size of a jet fighter, powered by a turboprop engine, able to fly at 300 mph and reach 50,000 feet. It’s outfitted with infrared, laser and radar targeting, and with a ton and a half of guided bombs and missiles.
The Reaper is loaded, but there’s no one on board. Its pilot, as it bombs targets in Iraq, will sit at a video console 7,000 miles away in Nevada.

See the photo on the Drudge Report along with the full story.
No cockpit window looks strange, but she is a real beauty. With more and more of these drones, we will be able to save many lives in combat. The troops will be doing a lot of clean up action. I love it. They didn’t say exactly when they would be put in use, but they plan on using them in Iraq. I bet they are there now. I’d like to see a demonstration. Bet it’s awesome. I love technology and we are the best. Way to go, USA.

10 Responses to The Grim Reaper in the Skies

  1. busygram says:

    Hey Mad, we finally have something that’s going to work and as you said, save many lives and hopefully bring out troops home. I love all the new tech. stuff, it’s just some of it scares the bee-gee’s out of me, as I’m not as fast at as I was 20 years ago. Thanks for the article. I saw it on t.v. and it’s the ‘BOMB’.

  2. madmouser says:

    We are closing in on Star Wars and I love it.

  3. ladyconklin says:

    This is the most fantastic thing to happen in eons. Although I’m not sure I’m ready for the Clingon’s just yet.

  4. busygram says:

    Speaking of Clingons, I have a few of those right here at home. So after going through that adventure in itself, what’s a few aliens?

  5. madmouser says:

    Too funny, Lady and Gram. We have robotic airplanes with bombs and they are also working on a Robotic soldier that can fire weapons. This is getting exciting to say the least. Its like the Battle of the Bots.

  6. Glad you’re back..I’ve missed your wit and wisdom!
    I stagnate without my literary mouser fix.

    Laurie

  7. madmouser says:

    Laurie,
    Thank you so much. You are too kind

  8. busygram says:

    Mad, by the way, I saw on the news the other day about the new assualt vehicle that is from what I understood to be remote controled so there aren’t any humans at risk. This thing was another piece of Star Wars. It looked pretty cool and I’m all for anything that will keep our guys safe.

  9. madmouser says:

    I love it. Robot Wars!

  10. busygram says:

    I like the idea of all the robots and keeping our guys safe. This way we can kick butt, take names and the only one who gets blasted is the bad guy. Yeah….
    Oh buy the way, when I was telling my son about all this and my blogging, he informed me that I had made a mistake between Star Wars and Star Trek when referring to the Clingons. So I now stand corrected. Clingons go to Star Trek and I got the two confused, and I can’t imagine how that happened with all these kids running around here…hehehe. If you haven’t had the chance to see “I Robot”, please try to rent it. You talk about a reality check. Now that’s scarry, but it was great to see what could be.

Leave a Reply

