Celebrity Worship

Do you think all the adoration the public gives our celebrities is well-deserved? Do you think famous people are smarter than the average bear? Think again.

>>>(On September 17, 1994, Alabama’s Heather Whitestone was selected as Miss >>America 1995.)
>>Question: If you could live forever, would you and why?
>>Answer: “I would not live forever, because we should not live forever, because if we were supposed to live forever, then we would live forever, but we cannot live forever, which is why I would not live forever,” –Miss Alabama in the 1994 Miss USA contest.

What????
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
>>>”Whenever I watch TV and see those poor starving kids all over the world, I can’t help but cry. I mean I’d love to be skinny like that, but not with all those flies and death and stuff.”
–Mariah Carey
Huh? That was so profound. What can you say after that???
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
>>”I’ve never had major knee surgery on any other part of my body,”
>>–Winston Bennett, University of Kentucky basketball forward.
>>,,,OK, at least we know he did not attend Medical School…
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
>>”Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,”
>>–Mayor Marion Barry, Washington, DC.
Did he really say that? What does he know anyway, the big druggie!
>>,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
>>That lowdown scoundrel deserves to be kicked to death by a jackass, and I’m just the one to do it,”
>>–A congressional candidate in Texas.
>>You said it yourself,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
>”Half this game is ninety percent mental.”
>>–Philadelphia Phillies manager, Danny Ozark
Do not let this guy work the cash register.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Saving the best for last…
>>”It isn’t pollution that’s harming the environment. It’s the impurities in our air and water that are doing it.”
>>–Al Gore, Science Fiction Writer

15 Responses to Celebrity Worship

  1. “It isn’t pollution that’s harming our enviroment. It’s the impurities in our air and water; and my digs are not helping matters.” — Al (do as I say, not as I do) Gore.

    Al Gore’s Mansion Described As Energy Hog!

    Read all about it!

    http://www.cnsnews.com/ViewCulture.asp?Page=/Culture/archive/200702/CUL20070227c.html

  2. Oh, but how we love to worship the stars. I confess I am an educator, and I have my middle school kids read a satiric novel. One of the prime issues in this novel is how everyone changed their view about a situation because a movie star talked about it.

  3. the Grit says:

    Hi AngryCat,

    I really don’t think, in most cases, it’s worship. It’s really more extreme envy of people who are filthy rich, more or less above the law, get lots of sex with attractive members of whichever gender they like, and have, apparently, absolutely no responsibility or need for thought. Most people, it would seem, confuse that with freedom, hence the attraction.

    the Grit

  4. Hi,

    I’ve wasted some portion of my life being annoyed with celebrity worship and slavish adherence to fashon trends.

    I found this entertaining and informative. http://the-mouse-trap.blogspot.com/2006/08/celebrity-worship-personality-and.html

    Hank

  5. Gorilla Guys says:

    Oh now c.mon, Leave Danny O alone. In the long, storied losing history of Phillies baseball, Danny has contributed to one of it’s most colorful chapters. The guy had more Yogiisms than Yogi himself, and you have to like a guy like that.

    Go Fight’n Phils!

  6. the Brit says:

    Is it the people who worship celebrities or are we all brainwashed by a media who see them in terms of $’s and £’s?

    the Brit

  7. Ahmed Ismail says:

    Hello Mad Mouser, I am Ahmed Ismail. You visited my blog today and left me a comment. I am here now to reply to your comment. Well, if you have read the post carefully, you would have seen that the Iranian Foreign Minister has done that already but the impact of the rumor was overwhelming.
    Thank you very much for reading my post. Have a great day.

  8. cumby says:

    Maybe people or so bored with their own mundane lives that anyone but them seems interesting in comparison.

  9. I am absolutely thrilled that Anna Nicole Smith has finally been buried. I am so tired of hearing about the entire mess, but we still we be bombarded by the patrenity proceedings. And in looking forward to the future, probably everything that Danielle does will be tabloid fodder.

  10. Hi Charlotte,

    I’ve visited your new blog and I see your organized and ready to rumble.

    I read that your an extremely proud liberal thinker, and other than Ahmed, I reccommend that you visit any commentor above and look around.

    I promise an interesting time, as well as thoughtful, prompt and reasonable responses from every one of them, myself included.

    Your Florida insurance giveback program post is of great interest to me. I live in Florida, in hurricane alley that your map displays. If I actually get some monetary relief, I’ll let you know.

    Thanks,

    Hank

  11. marty says:

    It’s a shame the Media and other new’s organizations can’t focus on what’s really important. Hey I’m sorry for what happened to Anna Nicole Smith and her family, but other famillies have been dealt the same kind of hand and there is no mention of them or how they will move on. The Media has abused their privilage so much, that I no longer take them seriously.

  12. arclightzero says:

    I couldn’t have put it better myself. It amazes me to no end that these people are so looked up to! What’s even more amazing is that these people have now become involved in political, social and environmental issues and people think that it’s ok! THAT is a scary thought. That means that all of these celebrity worshiping zombies can be loaded onto whatever bandwagon these ce3lebrities want, no matter how silly or self-defeating the cause may be… Yikes!

  13. marty says:

    Thanks for the input on how scarry can this be. You take all the Celeb’s with their political agenda’s and it makes you want to move to another planet. I wasn’t aware that you had to have Celeb status to qualify for political outburst/hype (which that’s all it is). A lot of these people are no longer appreciated in their so called Hollywood World, or their kind of used up, that they feel they must pursue another agenda, like trying to run the world and our lives, which they are not qualified for, as they can’t even run their own. So say the Rag Mags. Yikes is Right.

  14. Tomas says:

    Celebrities tend to get caught up in their own importance, however artificially manufactured it may be, entangled primarily through the aphrodisiacal effects of the irrational aduration thrust upon them by embarrassing numbers of those not so celebrity blessed.

Leave a Reply

